Capturing Seasonal Light

Woodland morning light changes significantly with the seasons.

In spring and early summer new leaves on many of our familiar trees have a distinct brighter shade of green (see below). In autumn the same leaves cast altogether different shades of colour in the morning sunlight. And in winter, bright sunshine easily finds its way onto the woodland floor, reflecting warm colours off autumn’s fallen leaves.

The distinctive shades of green we associate with the month of May.

The distinctive shades of green we associate with the month of May.

I’ve been walking through the same woods and on the same paths since my childhood. Although I’m alone now, I still take pleasure in the subtle shades of light that each season brings. Often I’ll carry a camera and try to capture the changes I see.

Early autumn light, 2007.

Autumn’s early light, 2007. Canon PowerShot G9. JPEG straight from camera.

Sunrise in May.

Sunrise in May through the new, brighter shades of green. Fujifilm X10.

Morning light on Christmas Day, 2007. I took 3 hand-held shots at different exposure values and used each of them for this final image.

A frosty morning, Christmas Day, 2007. I took 3 hand-held shots at different exposure values and used each of them for this final image. Camera: Canon PowerShot G9. For more information see the post Under the Christmas Day Moon.

December fern. In winter more light makes it through the trees to sheltered areas.

December fern. In winter much more light makes it through the trees to sheltered areas. Fujifilm X-E1, 18-55mm lens, +1 exposure compensation.

On an early morning winter walk through the woods.

On an early morning winter walk through the woods. Fujifilm X-E1, 18-55mm lens. I managed two shots of my dog on this fallen tree. I wanted the best ISO quality I could get so I was using the lens’s image stabilisation. Despite my best efforts, the better of the two images suffered slightly from camera-shake, but he was looking to the right, which was what I wanted. So I copied his head (additionally sharpened) from the shaken shot and positioned it into place in the shot that was sharp enough, (see below). Sometimes we have to cheat! But I wish I’d thought of using a subtle pop of fill-flash too.

_

_

2 thoughts on “Capturing Seasonal Light

Share your views

