The Top of Ireland

Carrauntoohil, 1,038 metres (3,406 ft). Ricoh GR1

I’ve hoofed it all over Ireland but my best experience was travelling along the Black Valley (see below, taken very early in the morning) and parking where the lane became a track too broken up to drive on. From there it took several exhilarating hours to reach the top of Ireland. And what a fantastic view. I’ve been lifted up to the top of Mont Blanc (15,781 ft) but give me an Irish or Scottish panorama any day.

The beautiful Black Valley.

The beautiful Black Valley on a calm summer’s morning.

I asked this man if he would strike a pose for me with his staff. He said, “We’re looking down on everybody now!”

The view on the way back.

The view on the way back.

Some years ago my late father-in-law flew me over Northern Ireland’s highest peak, Slieve Donard. As we circled around I could see a photographer bent over his camera and tripod. I wonder what his shots were like. Visibility was perfect.

My father-in-law and his plane.

My father-in-law and his plane. Canon EOS 50, Fuji Reala.

2 thoughts on “The Top of Ireland

Share your views

